Stromness -Day 13

Yes the sky was really this blue as I walked round the town at the back of Brinkie’s Brae and saw this tumbledown cottage with the red roof. It was lovely to lose people and habitation for a while. However I also lost sight of the sea and that is what makes Stromness so attractive to me. To be able to sit in comfort and watch the elements play with the water is mesmerising. I will miss that when I get home and can only see grass, people and rabbits.

I had several things to do in Stromness in the afternoon, but eventually I sat in the garden with my paper and the crossword and watched the ferry and boats coming and going over the wall.

With the sun still shining at 8 pm I have had a dander round the lanes and closes leading to the harbour and now home, I sit watching the late sun shining on Orphir and on the lighthouse on Gramesay and on Flotta in the distance too.
Days like this make up for all the past days of drizzle and murk.
the extra is the array of flowers in the garden against the dry stand dyke

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.