There were three men...

If you follow the delightful "woodpeckers" account you'll already have seen a lovely shot of him. I was inspired to visit Cirencester today on the back of her photograph, and visit the Brewery Arts Centre where the exhibition "John Barleycorn Must Die" is almost over (ends August 25th).

I have a strong affinity with the pagan background of the Barleycorn journey, and I wanted to try and capture a darker image of him than Helena's. His story is one of sacrifice and rebirth (as are so many), and though it's a story than spans the year it comes full circle at Lughnasadh / Lammas time.

John Barleycorn remains the only song I have ever sung and played live to an audience. Supported by Somerset Bluesman Z Z Birmingham and Ushti Baba violinist Ursula, I banged it out on mandolin and voice at Druid Camp 2011, then amidst the thunderous applause decided never to do that again!

Some seek the limelight. Others are happier backstage. 
I've been incredibish, goodnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.