WARNING

'It seems to be absolutely completely dead. Might as well be a lump of plastic with a contact strip on it.' Wisdom from my techie brother.

I've been feeling a bit uninspired about photography recently and what enthused me again was taking pictures eleven days ago around Leith with fellow blippers. So it was very bad timing that my SD card chose to die immediately after we'd parted company. I have lost all my pictures from that afternoon.

I console myself that the company was better than my pictures would have been.

I can now see clues that the card is counterfeit - the text on it is not quite as clear as that on my new genuine card, for example.

So, a warning. Buy cards from reputable outlets. I was foolish - mine came from a garage when I needed a card in a hurry. EBay also seems to be a source of fake cards and apparently Amazon too. At least Amazon replace them when it's pointed out, but they can't replace your photos...

More info here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.