Rush

A morning of work in the office before several performances. First up was Red Dust Road, based on the memoir by the wonderful Jackie Kay who I love reading and seeing at the Book Festival. I enjoyed it, although some of what this review says rang true....somehow the cast/production didn’t feel they filled the stage....Good but the book probably better. Then onto a new style event where an artist (in this case a poet) offers provocations for discussion over a meal we share with other artists, invited community members and paying ‘audience’. Unusual and interesting..we discussed what the world will be like in 2075 and found ourselves veering between utopian and dystopian visions. I was rather thrilled to find myself on a table with the producer of the fabulous show I saw last week
Dashed from the dinner discussion to see Orfeo ed Euridice by Gluck. Fantastic. Iestyn Davies the counter tenor was incredible...what a strangely beautiful and powerful voice! Here he is before the concert started, sitting tortured at the side of the stage as the audience arrived and he was on stage throughout...he”ll be exhausted after that performance but CK and I loved it.
Home to find some extremely irritating email contributions to this week’s contentious discussions. Unusually I’m at a loss to decide the best way to respond......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.