SCULPTURE AT ORBITAL SHOPPING PARK, SWINDON

I was only on the Girls About Town for the second hour this morning because some issues arose regarding my Mum’s care package and I needed to be with her.  In the event, the care worker could not come, so I decided to go into the Radio Station for the second hour and had a good time with Jo and Clare, as always.

I met a friend at the Orbital Centre for coffee this afternoon, so decided that as I hadn’t blipped this sculpture before, it would be a good opportunity to do so.  It is very impressive 5.5 metre laser-cut steel structure, based on the shape and size of a Spitfire wing, created by local historian and artist, Dr. Mike Pringle and unveiled in 2018 to celebrate the 100th Anniversary of the Royal Air Force,   

According to various web pages, this has been “Designed around the shape and size of a Spitfire wing and featuring the outline of an engineer and a pilot, the artwork honours the people of Swindon who helped in the war effort during WWII and contributed to the town’s rich engineering heritage.”  

The woman on the sculpture was obviously a nod to the women who worked at the factory on aircraft repair and construction during the War years.  It’s interesting that she is shown wearing a turban - which reminded me that my Mum always used to wear one when she went to work at the Garrard factory in Swindon, which was famous for making high-quality gramophone turntables.

In fact, many of the Spitfires used in the Second World War were made at South Marston, just outside Swindon, the last Spitfire being completed in January 1949 and apparently, there was once a real Spitfire at the entrance to the original complex. 

Dotted around the sculpture are paving stones depicting flying and next to it is a children’s playground with climbing frames in the shape of a plane and an airfield watch tower.  The sadness for me is that there is nothing, as far as I could see, to tell visitors anything about this sculpture and although I have tried to contact the Centre Manager on numerous occasions, he has never returned my calls.  Ah well, at least I tried.  

"Art helps us see connections 
     and brings a more coherent meaning 
          to our world." 
Ernest Boyer : President, Carnegie Foundation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.