Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

When I grow up I want to be....

I wonder if this man knew that he wanted to be an engine driver?

Today the intermediate walkers set off from Alston station, but on the train, not on foot. We travelled to Slaggyford, where a station has been reopened. The South Tynedale Railway Preservation Society runs the trains. Nearly all are volunteers. This man is employed for two days a week, when he drives the engine, and volunteers for two days a week.

I was most impressed by his immaculate appearance.

The walk was the toughest I have done since the operation. It was said to be 6.2 miles but felt more like 7+ probably because of the rough terrain. Arth took it in his stride. I'm tired!!

The weather was changeable, but mainly fine. We were quite wet when we arrived back at the Cumberland Arms in Alston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.