TINY TUESDAY - CAN YOU GUESS WHAT THIS IS?

Mr. HCB surprised me yesterday when he brought one of his “new” specimens in to show me.  It was round and yellow and wasn’t a courgette so I was stumped.  He told me that it was a cucumber called “Crystal Lemon” or Cucumis sativus, which he bought from Seed Parade, just because he fancied growing something different.  Ah well, guess it keeps him happy and he told me he just likes to grow something different each year.  I have to say the cucumber tasted much better than the black potatoes he grew a couple of years ago - I just wonder what it will be next year!

We have just cut and tasted the cucumber, and according to the blurb, it says the flavour is excellent, sweet, mild and very juicy - there wasn’t much of a lemon taste and I think we might take the skin off, as it was rather tough - but there are plenty more, so we will have lots to taste and compare with this one.

I went out into the small greenhouse quite early this morning and found this tiny one growing - if all the ones on the two plants grow well, we shall have lots and lots of crystal lemon cucumbers - wonder if I could make some soup with them?  You can see more in the extra collage.

I popped in to see my Mum this afternoon - she wasn’t too good and has a lot of pain in her side - but she is due to see her Renal Consultant next Monday, so hopefully he can throw some light on why she is in so much pain.  I did a few odd jobs and left her sleeping - didn’t want to bother my sister, as she has gone away for the day with her daughter - just called again (6.30 pm) and Mum is still in a lot of pain, so may pop over there again soon. The Care Worker is calling tomorrow at 1 p.m. so I will be there to discuss the Care Package - and hopefully we can sort things out.

“In order to be irreplaceable
     one must always be
          different.”
Coco Chanel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.