A Really Tough Day.......

I warn you in advance, this post is emotional, sad, and difficult.....
      One of the reasons I came to  Massachusettes and Connecticut was to conduct  some business, sad family business.
42 years ago my daughter died in a tragic riding accident, at the age of 8.   At the time, I couldn't think straight, and decided to bury her where I worked, in Plainfield, Ct..  The stipulation on the gravesite was that it could only be for one person, inperpituity.  I, at that time, needed her close by and did not bury her at the family site in Massachusetts.  At the time it worked, was what I needed, part of how I grieved her loss and learned to go on......
     Today, 42 years later, I need something else........   for a very long time it has bothered me that she is there and I will be buried somewheres else.
So, I have had the sad task of arranging her exhumation and transfer to the the family plot.  This has been incredibly difficult, emotionally.  I drove away from Plainfield, crying.......   in relief that the task had been accomplished,  dearly wishing that I could have 5 more minutes, just 5 minutes with her.   2. in joy and relief that it would be done and all would be better in my world.  I slept pretty well last night.   I know that when the time comes, (eons from now) I will be joined with her eternally.
    On the new grave stone I have ordered, there will be her name and mine, with a dove, and an inscription......   "A mothers love is eternal".
Today is a back blip because yesterday was to difficult for me to write this, but this morning is ok.  And I have life long friends coming to visit this morning.  So, joy is returning to my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.