Duck, duck..... GOOSE!

Yesterday, was a busy day.  I had life long friends (over45 years, now) drive to visit with me in Mass.  I had stopped by their home in Plainfield to see them, but they were out.  Since they hadn't responded to phone calls or emails, I figured they were visiting grand children .  I wrote a long note and left it in their mailbox.  They are very special, dear, caring people, needless to say I was disappointed but hope everything was well with them.
    When I walked into my hotel room I got a phone call....   it was them, and they demanded to visit the next morning.  I offered to drive out there but they would have none of that.
      Bill and Pauli arrived at 9 am, we went to Dunkin Donuts, had breakfast and proceeded to talk, laugh, reconnect, enjoy, cry, tease, help one another and recumbent one of those friendships that will endure a lifetime.  We didn't leave until 2 pm.  Dunkin Donuts never said a word, offered extra coffee, and let us be.  Our friendship is the kind that even though you don't see one another for a long time everything  is the same, the sparkle in their eye, their joy to see me as mine to see them., all was there. The hugs were tight and warm.  It was a wonderful reconnection.
    Bill and Pauli also knew my daughter, they were at the funeral,  They were very glad that I was taking her home.
    The good byes were tearful, and none of us wanted it to end, but knew better.  I know I will visit with them again.  Friends like that are never really lost, it's just till the next time.....

    M y remaining afternoon was spent with last arrangements at the cemetery.  My brother Dale and I found the family plot and sat there talking and reconnecting ourselves.  I found peace there, glad that my job was now complete, set in motion to occur.  As Dale and I chatted, a whole flock of geese came around....   not 3' away from me.  They were so funny, cocking their heads and begging for bread crumbs.  I had nothing to feed them........,
The geese got indignant, hissed at us, and waddled off.  What a hearty laugh we had.......

Today I leave New England and head south to Pennsylvania.  It's time to go home.  I will spend Labor Day weekend with them, before turning my car to Florida.  What a wonderful trip I have had!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.