Oregon Dark Eyed Junco

The Dark Eyed Juncos are the most common birds we see hopping around on our deck; they will hop right up to me. They are my clean-up-crew under the sunflower seed feeder; the finches, nuthatches and chickadees are a bit picky about the hulled seed they want so they drop a quite a few. It is nice to have birds who pick them up.

I worked for hours in the yard cleaning up my shade garden.....my Hosta were looking quite sad with so many holes in the leaves.....I cut all the damaged leaves off and searched until I found a few snails and slugs who are probably the source of the damage! They are no longer able to roam in my garden or have lots of babies in the future. I took most of the Hostas out......that was difficult for me.....they are my "babies" .....but they must be relocated somewhere else.......I can't deal with the messy look in my front yard gardens. The Lady Ferns are being relocated too.....they have spread too far and wide for my taste. It is looking better already, but there is a lot more work to be done tomorrow.

This evening I took my grandson shopping for his birthday.....I have taken him school shopping for clothes for years since his birthday is usually days before school starts......but his tastes have gotten pricey and his needs more expensive, so I had to put a limit on it this year.....he was great and actually got mostly necessities like underwear and clothes he needs for his La Crosse practices. Well, the special cologne and Hydro Flask Water Bottle were probably not really necessary....but it was what he wanted....so as long as he kept it under my generous limit, we were good. I LOVED spending time with him.....we had dinner together too.......he flies out tomorrow afternoon to his college in Southern California!  He will be missed!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.