David and Luca 3/9/19

I should be ready for shocks, but the latest one had me lost for words.

I was invited to David and Luca’s flat tonight for nibbles as Lucy, daughter#4, was in town for a meeting.
Not suspecting anything I arrived to find my son-in-law also there but still there was no reason to wonder why. It was only when the champagne was produced and I was told that David and Luca (pronounced Lootsa!)had just got married and my daughter and son- in-law were the witnesses that everything fell into place.

To say I was lost for words is an understatement. I never saw it coming as I believed them to be quite happy as a couple without the need for a marriage certificate. I am thrilled for them and they make a lovely couple. They were so happy tonight and are off to Hungary tomorrow to meet Luca’s parents and for David presumably ask her father retrospectively for Luca’s hand in marriage.
There’s not a lot he can say to that now. I just wish His Lordship was still here to celebrate with us. He liked them both so much.
3rd September is not a date I am likely to forget and hopefully not an auspiciously bad date , being the one WW2 was declared!,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.