Whitby Again

So this morning we got ready and went down for breakfast in the spacious dining room - a Full English for me, with apple juice. It was delicious! 

With that to sustain us, we set off on the footpath back into the town. In glorious sunshine were better able to appreciate the scenery, and also saw a steam train! They run along the line there frequently. 

Back-Blipped for yesterday!

Once in Whitby, we climbed up the 199 steep steps to St Mary's Church and the ruined abbey. These buildings and the coastline itself inspired Bram Stoker's Dracula. Consequently the town is popular with goths, although little is made of this by the people associated with the church!

We had a look around some of the lovely unique shops, and I treated myself to a Whitby jet bracelet. There were some beautiful amber and jet pieces, and I could have spent a fortune if I'd had one to spend.

My Blip for today is taken looking over the town from the climb.

After the descent, Bri was ready for lunch, but I was still full from breakfast. I did have a milkshake a little later! We spent some more time wandering round, and then walked back to the hotel where the car was still parked, to begin the journey home.

It was a short but fantastic break. The boys barely noticed our absence, and Minstrel hadn't been starved, so it's all good.

Back to reality tomorrow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.