Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Cant' resist

When we got home this afternoon (after an easy drive from our little getaway in paradise) the garden was full of Red-spotted Admirals, the most I've ever seen here.  Many were extremely worn, several were missing parts of wings, and then there was this one... pristine and perfect.  The colors are stunning against the buddleia and the background was mercifully uncluttered.  And I know it's the 3rd time I've blipped this species in just a little over a week, but I'm thinking the twirled one doesn't count...

We slept late this morning then took a nice wander around the campground which covers many acres of beautiful wooded camp sites.  We agreed that we'd happily return here - the grounds are so well maintained and there is plenty to do.  After our wander and a simple breakfast, we started readying the RV for our trip home, which takes about an hour.  Once on the road, our trip was just over an hour and under sunny skies.  

Once home, I took a drive over to pick up my monarch caterpillars from my friend who's been "cat-sitting" for me.  She released 3 while I was gone.  In addition there was one that emerged in the garden today, so I sent him on his way too.  That makes 26 so far this summer with another 30 or so to go.  Much fewer than I raised last year, but that was by choice.  It's actually quite a bit of work to ensure that they are raised in a healthy environment with plenty of fresh food.  

We have a new home lined up for MIL and now Hubs will navigate through the logistics of when and how we move her.  I believe she will be in a safer environment in the new facility, but wish it was closer.  We've been spoiled having her so close to us.  

Thanks for the love on my little lovefest of damselflies yesterday.  I still haven't id'd them, but I will...

Happy Hump Day.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.