Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Tough Guy

Heavily cropped, but I loved the tough-guy stance so it had to be my blip today.  This is a juvenile male ruby-throated hummingbird perched on the wire tomato cage on SIL's cucumber plant.  He was going through an extensive preening and stretching routine and in this shot he's pulled both wings back over his "shoulders", much like we humans do to stretch out stiff shoulders.  One of my favorite hummer poses.

The hummingbirds are very aggressive this time of year as they try to store as much fat as possible for the migration to Mexico.  They get so amped up that not only do they chase each other, but sometimes get carried away and chase other bird species.  Today, one of the young hummers went after a young Goldfinch - had the poor little thing trapped in the phlox and was hovering right in front of it, going side to side.  Honestly, it was pretty funny.  Although probably not so much for the goldfinch.

I had another rough night in terms of sleep last night so grabbed a nap today.  Combined, I think I got about 3 hours of sleep.  Hope this passes soon as I hate feeling so tired but not being able to sleep.

I was sitting out on the patio having tea this afternoon when suddenly a chipmunk jumped up to the little table where my teacup sat - not sure who was more surprised.  We both squeaked.  

Restaurants in NJ opened today for indoor dining at 25 % capacity.  Gyms also opened earlier this week, at 25 % capacity.  I'm in no rush to do either.  I'm happy for the business owners who have really suffered through this past six months of being totally or partially shut down, but I am not yet to the point where I want to be indoors with people I don't know.  I will probably drop by the gym next week just to see how they are complying with all the rules.  If it feels safe to me, I'll go back - if not, I'll wait.  

The virus still seems to be largely uncontrolled in the US, mostly because of a lack of uniform safety protocols.  You have states like NJ, NY and CT where the positivity and transmission rates have been consistently low for several months, but other states where spike are occurring.  And of course, now we are looking ahead to the flu season.  I think that people get complacent, or just tired of living in a state of caution.  Ad for me, I never leave home without a mask and I limit my contact with strangers.  Seems like the best course of action.

Stay safe, people.  And never forget to be kind and loving...and patient.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.