As I walked out........

As I walked out one autumn morning, the weather was again wet, very wet and to make matters worse I was on my way to the dentist. It seems that it’s not only the Lawyers who are after my money, but the dentists too want an eye watering amount. I have spent months procrastinating over renewing 2 crowns which will set me back a cool £1000, but it seems I might have not much wriggle room left. My dentist tells me I must grind my teeth when I sleep. If I do, then maybe it’s because of her fees.

Anyway I escaped this morning with only a very brutal clean with a very sharp instrument to make my way along this quiet path- The Muriel Spark walkway, so named because this was the path the author of ‘The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie’ took on her way from her home in Bruntsfield to her school - James Gillespie’s High School for Girls. This was also my first alma mater and once it became just another comprehensive , the alma mater of most of my children at some point.

I had occasion in the afternoon to brave Forrest Road to reach the Central Library and upgrade my defunct Library ticket. I have to stop buying books which are taking over the house, and have them lent to me by the library instead.

Now I wouldn’t want my wee brother who lives in the solitude of a hamlet near Bath to think I am depressing him with my observations on life in Central Edinburgh, but it is my impression that this year as the students return, there is an extraordinarily large number of Chinese Students amongst the swarms forcing me to walk in the road to pass them. They are much engaged with Greyfriar’s Bobby and the Elephant house, amongst everything else.
It would be interesting to know if any other Edinburghers are of the same impression that the University has done successful job selling their degrees to China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.