Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Mom, Mom...MOM!!!

A couple of days ago, I thought I heard baby Tufted Titmice begging, but then I thought to myself - surely not.  You see, this species only produces one brood a year and they do so in the spring.  But, as I sat on the deck this morning warbler-watching, along came a whole troop of young titmice with their parents.  I doubt they've been out of the nest more than a week as they are still being fed and (as seen here) are begging loudly,  enthusiastically and relentlessly.  I'm a sucker for a Tufted Titmouse, and I missed getting any good photos when there were babies around this spring...so this had to be my blip.  

In the meantime, I am putting two shots in Extra, representing Yard Birds #39 and 40.  A Black-throated green warbler and an Ovenbird (also a warbler) respectively.  Not great photos, but good enough for this year's record.I also saw a Magnolia Warbler but the photos were embarrassingly awful and have gone straight to the bin.

Hubs spent some time with MIL in the new facility today and she seems to be doing well.  He and SIL were also over to spend time with her last night.  Maybe we will catch a break and she will adjust to her new surroundings without any significant problems.  Fingers crossed.  

I'm dusting off my presentation on Costa Rica as I've been hired to give it to a birding/nature group tomorrow night.  I enjoy public speaking, so looking forward to it. Plus, it will give me a chance to relieve a fabulous trip.  And although it is way too early to get excited, I am really looking forward to going back next May!

Two more Monarchs released today, bringing my total for the year to 40.  Four medium sized caterpillars still eating and around 15 chrysalids waiting to become butterflies.  

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.