Life Savors

By osuzanna

The Pick-Up

We left early to drive up to Frederick, Maryland because the traffic late in the afternoon, leaving Washington D.C. and heading north is very heavy.  I had two photos in an exhibition in Frederick over the summer, and they needed to be picked up.  We made a date of it, arriving in time for happy hour at a favorite little restaurant of ours, with half price drinks and tapas. 

When we were done, we walked over to the Delaplaine Art Center where the Frederick Camera Clique was having their meeting.  The speaker was from the National Library of Medicine and an expert on early photography in medicine.  My husband, the physician, was especially interested in that so we stayed for the presentation.  

Frederick is a town with significant civil war history.  They have restored and preserved many of the old buildings while adding modern things like a river walk along the creek that runs through the downtown.  The creek has beautiful plantings and is where I got this shot of the water lily. I faffed with this a bit and I may still have to work on it as I am not totally satisfied, but it is late so must stop for today.  I actually like the black and white version a lot ,which can be found.here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.