Manchester Rooftops

After finishing my working day in Manchester I had a look in the Art Gallery.

There is an exhibition of ceramic work by Halima Cassell. Born in Kashmir, grew up in Manchester, influenced by building forms and Islamic art, amongst other things. This early piece was influenced by the rooflines of terraced housing in Manchester. I was very impressed by her work.

Early evening I went on a tour of the “NOMA” regeneration area in Manchester. Fascinating. I have discovered things. The Pilcrow pub, named after a hidden character in Word. The weather in Alaska, which a young Alaskan chap told me resembled tonight’s in Manchester (heavy drizzle which did not quite become proper rain) The Old Brewery Residency, which I will return to. And some interesting new office spaces created within the old Coop buildings. I liked the exposed pipes in one - see extra.

The evening ended, to my great surprise, with a pesto making workshop, great fresh herbs and spices. But I skipped that, and headed home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.