An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Busy as a buzzy bee...

We are getting close to the end of our social marathon where we've had something on almost every day for two weeks!  Two more lunches to go and I can concentrate fully on getting organised for our holiday at the end of this week.

Today we were having lunch with Jan, an ex-work colleague of David who retired about 10 months after David and moved down south to be nearer her daughter and her family.

Jan arrived at ours at 11.30am as she was keen to see Lola (she last saw Lola when she was six months old.)  Lola was very happy to see her and of course enjoyed the fuss being made of her.

After her Lola fix, we headed to Broadslap for lunch only to find it closed, as it's now operating on winter hours and is closed Monday/Tuesday.  We were on a shortish timescale as after lunch Jan was heading to St Andrews to meet up with other ex-work colleagues, so we headed to the Kirkstyle Inn in Dunning, a few minutes away.  It was also closed!  Even shorter of time and very hungry, we headed to Gloagburn which thankfully was open, and had a very lovely lunch.  Third time lucky right enough!

After lunch Jan headed off whilst we lingered in the shop (could spend a fortune in there!) as I wanted to buy another wooly hat for our trip to Harris & Lewis and some gifts to take to Anna and Faith, our friend's daughters, who we are staying with on Skye on our way to the ferry to the Hebrides (and again on the way home.)  Can't wait to see the girls.  Anna has started school since we last saw them at Easter, so she will no doubt have lots to tell me.

Home to iron only the urge to paint gripped me.  Having had so much on recently I've not not had the chance to just go with the artistic flow for a while so even though the urge to tackle the ironing was strong hahahahahahahahaha I resisted and got my paints out instead.  Made a start but had to stop before I was finished as it was time for dinner.  Too tired after dinner to continue (plus I prefer to work in daylight) so that piece will have to wait to be completed.

As we left Gloagburn this afternoon this busy little bee was dotting around the plants for sale outside the farm shop.  Annoyingly I didn't have my camera with me but I'm quite pleased with this iPhone shot, particularly as there was a stiff breeze blowing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.