An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Have you...

 ...fed the fish and let the cat out?  Questions D and I ask each other regularly.  We don't have fish or a cat, but it keeps us amused :-)))

My second cousin's wife Dot brought my auntie Maisie for lunch today.  She's up from Kent on holiday and staying with John and Dot.  It was all a surprise for my auntie Maisie as Dot had told her she was visiting the town to visit our excellent butcher.  Once here she suggested to my auntie Maisie they pop in of the off chance we were in, which of course we were.  So lovely to see the suprise and delight on my auntie Maisie's face as she thought we'd already left for Stornoway.

We had a lovely few hours catching up.  My auntie Maisie is the only one left on my side of the family of my mum's generation and she has so many of my mum (and my gran's) mannerisms.  I wish she lived closer so we could spend more time together.  

All too soon it was time for them to head off and time for me to turn my attention to holiday preparations.

I was brave enough to check out the weather forecast for Harris and Lewis next week and I'm happy to note that at this stage it's mixed but with brighter, drier weather being more prevalent than heavy rain.  Of course that could all change.

My evening has been spent looking out my winter clothes and laying aside what will be packed to take to Stornoway.  I still think of this as our "summer" holiday so it seems strange to be looking out jumpers, cardies, wooly hats, scarfs and gloves.  I can't wait!  
 :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.