Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Wowzer!

Well, look what showed up at the Bistro today ... my first ever Cooper's Hawk (Accipiter cooperii)!!! I went to put some peanuts out for the blue jays and thought it was odd that I couldn't see any of the usual little birds at my feeders. Stranger yet, I could hear them calling in the woods - sharp, one-note calls. And then I saw a fluttering of wings at the edge of the woods which I at first mistook for a flicker ... and then realized was a hawk in full hunt mode. Wowzer! I had enough wits about me to run in, grab binocs and Big Daddy and then spent the next 20 minutes of so snapping away, watching this fellow hunt.

As usual, most of the shots were rubbish - I didn't have time to check settings and had a hard time following him as he flew like a fighter jet through the undergrowth in the woods. And, of course, fully zoomed and hand held. Blah blah blah - all excuses. I chose this shot because it captured his look of intensity and also you can see how he was darting through heavy growth to hunt. I posted this shot and six others in a Flickr set, here.

He tried, unsuccessfully, to capture the juncos that were "hiding" in the undergrowth. Each time he gave chase, I held my breath, alternating between hoping he'd get a meal, and hoping his meal wouldn't be one of "my" birds. Eventually, he moved on into the woods. What a beautiful creature! To see him speed through the woods and across the yard was just amazing.

I had to consult one of the Audubon guys for a definite ID on him - Cooper's Hawks and Sharp-shinned hawks (see NatureLover's great shot HERE) are very similar and very hard to differentiate. Anyway, two birders looked at it and both said it was a Cooper's based on the rounded tale, stockier legs and wing shape.

I am really enjoying all of the entries in the BlipBigYear Challenge - big thanks to Anth for coming up with such a fun challenge.

Happy Sunday folks ... almost the start of another work week...

xxoo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.