Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The children are our future

Some time ago I started a photo project based on the area around this sculpture which commemorates the 38 boys and men who died in the Montagu-View pit disaster of 1925.

Today I returned to make more images of the area and to spend time looking for evidence of regeneration in the area. Although the sun shone brightly and the sky was blue, (very difficult for photography), there was little evidence of regeneration.

I had the grid reference for the grave in the Elswick Cemetery. It still took me quite a long time to find it, but eventually I did. It is a tall cross with a young miner on one side, complete with pick and miner's lamp and a figure of the Good Shepherd on the other. From a distance the lamb looked like a monkey, but I won't mention that!

On my way back to my car - yes it was still intact despite being left in Elswick - I met a lovely young family of father, mother and son. It was there first day in Newcastle. Dad is studying for a Masters in Health and Safety. They were looking for accommodation and I hope they found somewhere to suit them. Amazingly both parents are not only walkers but mountaineers! Their four year old son spoke good English, which will help when he starts school next week.

I will share more about the project as it proceeds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.