Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Yesterday Today Forever

This sculpture stands on a piece of open ground with a fine view south towards the Blaydon Bridge over the Tyne. I was beside it today for a project I'm completing in Newcastle. Most of the photographers in the Tynedale Photo Group are producing images of the city and I decided I wanted to do something in the west end, where the long rows of terraced houses used to stretch down to the riverside.

The sculpture is in memory of 38 men and boys who died in the Montagu View pit disaster of 1925. A seam burst and the mine was flooded. The pitman, pony and tank depict our past heritage. The house (in the hand of the boy and out of sight in my image) represents the regeneration of the community. "The children are our future."

I walked up to the houses you can see behind the statue and then up and down Shafto Street. This is a short terrace of houses, some cared for and some not. I later heard from a resident of the next street, that one house is for refugees and one is bail hostel. (I think that was the one with the smashed, boarded-up windows, but I may be wrong.)

I have a number of fascinating images from my shoot, which was all within a quarter of a mile of my blip.

Today we had no health appointments - not strictly true, but I re-dressed Mum's leg last night and cancelled the district nurse today. 

The afternoon and evening passed with all sorts of bits of things to do. I was just getting ready for bed, when I put a clean cover on Mum's soft collar and the collar split into two pieces. Not a good moment. Fortunately we had a spare which I was able to cut to shape. (I've ordered two more since they are clearly not built to last!!)

My extra is a close up of the pitman in the sculpture. I think he is enjoying the bright sunshine and fresh air!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.