Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Style and art in Prague

I was determined to do two things today: blip in good time and visit the temporary photography exhibition of Vladimir Birgus, on the fourth floor of the House of the Black Madonna. This is the home of Czech cubism and the permanent exhibition was fascinating.

Vladimir is a friend of Petr, see yesterday’s blip. The exhibition is called “So Much So Little (Photographs from the years when so much was Demanded and So Little Allowed)”.

His work is very good and reminds me a bit of Bill Brandt.

Coffee and cake in the restaurant was amazing. I have refrained from adding a picture of the cake!

The museum has a spectacular staircase, see extra. I happened upon a photographer and model at work. I was given permission to join in, although they were not interested in my images. She was looking down the stairwell to be photographed. Thanks to them anyway.

I wandered through the streets, planning to come early to the hotel for a break. Suddenly, a hail storm started with no warning. I dived into the nearest cafe/hostelry which turned out to be a pub. The lentil soup was excellent as was the dark beer.

My return, once the storm ended, was via the Old/New Jewish Cemetery and a walk on the riverbank.

PS I have tagged this for the People at Work challenge because the model is working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.