Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Prague is wonderful

I was too tired to post last night. This morning, I had this nearly complete and lost it....

My day started with a pre-dawn shoot on the Charles Bridge. Me and a whole load of other photographers! The light was amazing, if you turned and looked at the castle. Most people did not.

A man came and removed all the padlocks of love from the bridge.

I climbed the tower at the end of the bridge. The views were very good. Only 150 stairs. Arth was not amused.

I found the camera shop. Wow! The accessories department had the cable. HOORAY!

Looking at the map, I saw my way to the Josef Sudek house and set off. A tram then a walk across the park..... the green area was a very steep hill. I photographed the Memorial to the Victims of Communism at the bottom of said Petrin Hill, and took the funicular to the top.

A young woman from Ukraine, hoping to be a lawyer, was on the tram next to me. On the funicular a couple from Brazil gave me their seat. He is an accountant and she will become one after university.

Lovely chats.

The view from Petrin Hill is stupendous, see main image. I opted to go up the Petrin Tower, built to look like the Eiffel Tower, all 500 stairs, but I took the lift!!

There was no time for Joseph Sudek so I walked down to my hotel.

I met Maxine’s friend, Petr, for dinner in a Czech pub. I got lost on the way and was helped by a lovely young woman who made sure I alighted the correct metro! (Ever felt old?)

Petr kept me well entertained with his views while we ate beef and dumplings in a cream sauce with lemon and cranberries!!

He brought me all the way back to the hotel and walked on the roadside of the pavement. What a gentleman. (When my parents were courting, my Dad told Mum that men walked on the outside so they could spit in the gutter! A good joke to shock her, from a man who never spat at all.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.