Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Yet another drift of snowdrops!

They are lovely. Every year, they are lovely. Last week they were cased in ice, but here they are, looking lovely!

I was the hairdresser this morning. Then I attended an excellent talk from the Royal Society of Medicine on treatments for Covid-19. I hope I don't catch it, but if I do, I know that a lot has been learned over the last year. Treatments are much more targeted and a lot of clinical trials are underway.

My walk was from Acomb to St John Lee. The church here was built in the 19th century by John Dobson (famous local architect in Newcastle) but on a medieval site. The snowdrops in the graveyard are always a delight.

On my way back across the fields, I met my old friend Brian Stewart, flautist. I used to go to him for lessons back in the day.

This evening we have watched the first in four monologues called Barnes' People from the Original Theatre Company. Adrian Scarborough played A True Born Englishman.

 "Leslie has been a footman at Buckingham palace for thirty years.  A life of service, a life of discretion... and lifetime of secrets. Originally banned from broadcast by the BBC and never seen before, this world premiere takes you behind the scenes of the most famous of royal palaces for an unforgettable audience with a true born Englishman."

Oddly enough, Mum just said she was surprised that this was allowed to be screened............ I found nothing contentious in it at all. It was very good and worth seeing.

I have been struggling to find a way to cook chicken breasts without them coming out dry. Tonight I tried soaking them in brine for 30 minutes before cooking at a high temperature. They were coated in salt, pepper and smoked paprika. Delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.