All things must pass

I suspect most parents are like me inasmuch as there are traits you don't want to pass onto your children, those weaknesses in yourself that you don't want to share with anyone else. But, of course, your kids grow up with you and I suppose some things get passed on by osmosis. (This will become relevant shortly!)

Tonight was Dan's last lesson with the guitar teacher he's had since primary school. The Royal Northern College of Music are quite insistent that pupils have no tutelage outside of what they provide. Dan and I have discussed this and we can see the logic but it seems a bit brutal all the same. 

We bought his guitar teacher a bottle of wine and on the drive down to Lancaster Dan wrote out a card and I was quite surprised by how much he wrote. And then I dropped him off and went for a walk along the canal (hence the photo) before heading back to pick him up. 

Dan's lesson has always been five to five-thirty although he never finishes before six. Tonight it ran on even longer, which bought a lump to my throat. And when Dan came out, I could tell he was sad but also that he didn't want to talk about it. (This is where I refer you back to the first paragraph of this post.)

However, we were driving up to Tunstall where we were meeting Abi for Dan's birthday* dinner at the Lunesdale Arms. She was on fine form, as she usually is, and Milly was serving us, so the sadness of the afternoon was soon left behind and we had a very enjoyable evening. 

*which is tomorrow

****
-9.0 kgs
Reading: 'Are We Still Rolling?' by Phill Brown

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.