Lopes Mendes

The rain largely abated today, but it’s not been overly warm. Undeterred, I donned my soggy shoes and clothes and hiked through the forest to this beach, Lopes Mendes, regarded as one of most scenic spots on a very scenic island. Erlyn met me there by boat, as he has an aversion to getting muddy in forests.

Lopes Mendes is known as one of Brazil’s best beaches and whilst we could have done with being drenched in more sun, it was hard to disagree. Very fine soft sand and inviting waters. Rumours abound that Pablo Escobar, the notorious cocaine baron, used this area as a key transit point for Brazil. Given that he amassed a fortune of 30 billion dollars through criminal activity, it’s fair to say he would have had his fingers in a few key hotspots. Luckily the beach remains uninhabited and untouched and any development is tightly controlled.

The extra is of a floating bar that Ricky had told me about and that I stumbled upon during the walk to Lopes Mendes, which goes via two other delightful beaches. I ordered an iced coffee there earlier in the day and was disappointed that it had been laced with a spirit of sorts. Cafés on beautiful remote Brazilian beaches are enticing enough without feeling they have to up the ante and spoil a perfectly good coffee. I’m surprisingly vehemently against alcohol tainting food and drink. I’d prefer a trifle sans sherry every time. I only really enjoy alcohol when it gets me leathered enough to go overboard on the dance floor. I don’t quaff sensibly for enjoyment of the taste. Let’s be honest and say the majority of alcohols taste like you’re pouring a tablespoonful of Dulux paint down your gullet.

‘My fish has no neck’ was my favourite sentence in today’s Duolingo session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.