Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Rain and sunshine

It has been a day of such mixed weather - bright sunshine one minute and heavy rain the next. At one point it was raining so hard the patio was flooded. I managed a dry walk in the woods this morning, where I took this photo - some momentary good light found here. Then back home to drop Xena off, have a coffee and rush off to the hairdresser. 

When I got home from the hairdresser it was raining so hard, Xena was standing at the back door not quite believing what she was seeing! I had to go get groceries, and now I have to catch up with laundry. I have bought all the bedding Thomas needs for university so I washed it all today and just need to iron it so it is all fresh and ready for next weekend when he goes to university.

I am enjoying my book club book White Chrysanthemum very much. It is about two Korean sisters and one of them was captured by the Japanese soldiers when they occupied Korea during the Second World War, and she was taken away and used as a 'comfort girl' for the Japanese soldiers. What they did to her was horrific - despite it only being a novel the brutal history of comfort girls abused by Japanese soldiers is real enough.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.