Cheeky Monkey!

I set off for home this morning and have had the journey from hell today!  I left Rachel's at 9am and Google Maps told me it was going to take 5.5 hours to get home!  On a good day it's 4.5 hours and on a bad day it's 6 hours, so I knew it was going to be bad day.

Once I was on the M6 I was offered an alternate route that would save me 20 minutes, so I took it.  The route took me off the motorway at Stoke and then I followed the A roads, passing Trentham Monkey Forest where I took Scarlett earlier in the year.  I was very tempted to stop as I love it there, but decided to carry on, until I hit more traffic and decided to turn back.  I'm so glad I did, because it had only just opened and was very quiet, but I guess that was a lot to do with the rain as well. 

I took my brolly with me so that my camera would stay dry, and luckily I'd taken my flash with me, so fitted it to my camera and off I went.  I only stayed for an hour but took 200 photos!    It's a wonderful 60 acre sancturay for the Barbary Macaques where they roam freely so you get to see them in their 'natural' habitat.  There were two babies, a male that was 19 weeks old and a female that was 21 weeks, so I enjoyed watching them and have added a couple of pics to my extras.

I got back to the car at 11.30 and set off again.  There were various road closures and accidents but I finally got back to Brighton about 4pm and I decided to stop off at the supermarket as otherwise I'd have to go tomorrow. After spending most of today in the car, it'll be nice not to have to do that. 

I got home to a lovely welcome from my boys, put the shopping away, unpacked and now I've got fillet steaks cooking and have opened a bottle of rose.  So cheers, hope you're having a great weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.