Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Registration

I dropped G off at school and came straight home. She had a longer day, so it made sense and gave me time to get a few things in place.

First off was organising the insurance for the Peugeot. We've decided to keep it for another year. We have a system here where the insurance company uploads the certificate directly to the Roads & Transport Authority computer. Once you have secured your insurance, you can go directly for the vehicle test (my blip).

Next was downgrading the web hosting plan for the website. Apparently we were paying for much more than we need at the moment. I had very good support from a technician at GoDaddy. All done in a few minutes. Patrick will have some tidying up to do. I am really pleased this is sorted as we've been going to and fro by email for weeks now.

I waited until the evening to take the car for its technical test and finish the registration process. It all went smoothly until I got to the last desk where the very kind old Emirati clerk said, "Oh, there's a problem. There are scratches on your number plate, so it has to be changed". Honestly, the back number plate has been like that since 2007 and they never said anything about the scratches before.

Anyway, as they didn't have the machine to produce the licence plate, I had to drive over to another centre to finish the process. At any rate, yet another new licence plate has come out and everyone has to move over to it by 2021, so the plates needed changing anyway.

I finally got home around 8:15 to a lovely roast dinner! I am glad two big things that have been bothering me are now done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.