Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Near Hareshaw Linn

I think you can tell from my blip that I have a story to share with you.

The weather was much better today, but I was at home fielding the festival calls. This afternoon, I drove to Bellingham and walked up by the Hareshaw Burn to Hareshaw Linn. There has been such a lot of rain that I expected the waterfall to be spectacular. It was fairly full of water, but a lot less than yesterday, I was told.

On my way up, I met this lady, Margaret and we chatted. She was looking for fungi. I showed her the only one I had photographed today (see extra) and she had missed the little clump of them on the way uphill. (You could not miss the smell!!)

Later I overtook her on my way downhill and she produced her camera to show me recent photos of fungi. In my blip you can just see the violet webcap, apparently rare around here. She saw it a year ago and again last week in Sidwood. 

We had a great chat. Her photos were excellent.

Aren't I lucky to meet such interesting people? (And I won't tell you how old she is - good for her to be out walking regularly.)

PS I asked Mum about the rabbits. She does not remember them having anything in them, but they belonged to my paternal grandmother. Dad used to take me there every Sunday after Sunday school. One day I came home with the rabbits. I was about 3 years old (not long ago then)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.