Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A blip when you least expect it

I spent more time this morning sorting out the printer which had a blocked channel (or two) so it is surprising that the failed prints did not look worse. I'm hoping it is now working and I'll try a proper print again tomorrow.

I had two goes at picking more apples because tomorrow is apple pressing in the village hall. This supplies the village shop with apple juice for the year. There may not be as much this year because donors are restricted to Humshaugh and Wall villages due to Covid 19.

After picking the apples, the tree still looked laden. I had to stop because Arth didn't like doing the job!

My walk this afternoon was not great. Suddenly the sun disappeared and there was a cold wind on Fallowfield Fell. I walked less than a mile and had nothing much to show in the camera. I drove home via Acomb to avoid opening and closing two gates on the road. 

At a T junction I stopped and then spotted a garden resplendent with dahlias. I parked up and went to see if I could photograph any. Fortunately, Barbara, whose garden this is, was just going into her front door. She invited me into the garden (whoops, I didn't say that did I?). Her husband was the dahlia enthusiast but he died suddenly in May. She has been looking after the dahlias ever since, but said the display was not as good as if he had looked after them.

They brought a lot of pleasure to me as I looked at the different varieties and took a few photographs. I like the way this one looks as though there is a reflection behind it.

Suddenly the day had lightened up.

In recent months I have not been very happy with my mince dinners. Tonight I had very good mince from the Wark butcher and tried a new recipe. It was delicious and there are four more meals for us in the freezer.

In the times of Covid 19
So Donald and Melania have tested positive for Covid 19. I feel I should record this.  I hate his politics, but I can't wish him to be very ill. I probably will feel a touch of satisfaction if he is ill enough to know that this virus is serious. He has been very stupid in his attitude to Covid, which must have been terrible for people who have lost friends and family. Life, however, is not fair, so he will probably emerge in 2 weeks and tell us that hydroxychloroquine has saved him.

Don't hold your breath.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.