Union Canal

Never one to miss the chance to post an Edinburgh blip I was delighted to see the canal looking so good today. What in my young day was a grotty part of town at Fountainbridge has been transformed into 'Edinburgh Quay' at the terminus of the canal. This time last year I was enjoying the Canal du Midi in the south of France. The Union Canal isn't quite the same but it's a much improved part of town.

I was on my way from Haymarket to Bruntsfield to meet friends for coffee. I'd decided to take Flora with me as she is pretty well behaved on the train and in cafes. It was a different story when we went back to my friends' flat where she made herself right at home jumping on furniture, stealing socks etc.

Such an easy walk back to Haymarket - all downhill - and on to the train home.

It's really chilly today and I wished I'd looked out a pair of gloves. I believe we're in for some windy weather. I hope the sun doesn't go into hibernation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.