Work in progress

Determined to be more upbeat today so up early and got the laundry done, chatted to S, then picked up some more colour test pots and headed over to the flat to meet the decorator. He chatted on happily and had good plans about most of it although wants the builders to plaster skim the sitting room ceiling.....eek! I thought the builders' stuff scattered on the floor made quite a nice composition. Certainly sums up these few weeks for me!
V popped in when she returned my car and we agreed on two colours by carrying the painted swatches around the various walls (Cornforth White for most of the flat and  Hague Blue  for the sitting room - although obviously the generic versions of these posh paints!). I then went down to Cannonmills to a door knob shop (extra).....fabulous place full of history and very local - advice for Edinburgh specific door handles and knockers etc, with really expert blokes who were super helpful and yet not in the least patronising....brilliant service. Reminds you why it's sometimes better to ignore the internet and go for the face to face. I got the perfect new front door knobs and a new letterbox.
Stopped off for a rather delicious bacon, avocado and tomato homemade bagel at a little shop down there but chatted to A as I ate so it was very messy! She was on her way to visit P and check his leg and the flea situation (both much better thank goodness!).
Home - although it took an hour to cross town because I got caught up in the indy ref march and motorbike parade, and had a good sort out of paperwork and found a bank account I hadn't used for ages which I reactivated (handy!) as well as getting a lot of stuff organised.
Started on some work but L arrived with Ad who'd been at the open day here for maths next year. We chatted away about universities, A levels, family, weddings, Grandad's health, singing group and house renovations. When they left I settled down to work a bit and watch Strictly. Couldn't seem to get the heating to come on early so it's a bit chilly but I have all the shutters closed, tea and chocolate so I'll survive!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.