Fungi

Walked into town this morning through Mote Park where preparations for the Oktoberfest were well in hand. And Susan spotted these fungi - growing on one of the roadside logs.

The Cygnets Model Boat Club were in full throttle with a speedboat completion that rent the air with noise and blanketed their part of the lake with noxious fumes.

I love the sailing boats and the wonderfully detailed electric boats but we cannot stand the row and smell these petrolheads create. I suppose we have to be tolerant of the interests and pursuits of others, I dare say there must be the very odd person who cannot stand the sight, sounds and smells of a steam locomotive.

In a break from usual practice I went for a swim this afternoon once I’d made tonight’s dinner and spoken to my eldest son Matthew. It was his 40th birthday today. I cannot believe he’s 40. I can remember the day he was born as clear as anything. His mum went into the maternity hospital early in the morning and I was sent away to my school to be called in the early afternoon to rerun to the hospital for his birth. The class and I were watching a film on transhumance in Norway at the time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.