Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Peppa

Today I had a look in at the Harvest Festival weekend celebrations around the cathedral.  Falconhigh were there again and they'd brought along Peppa, their one year old melanistic barn owl.  I'd never heard of melanistic barn owls until a week ago (very rare, one in a hundred-thousand) so stop me if I'm boring you, but it was explained as like being an albino except that instead of not being able to make dark colouration, they can't make light.  The reason they're so rare is that in the wild they're usually chucked out of the nest as soon as hatched.

But isn't she a beauty?

In Extras is a blip of Jay and Otis, who were giving carriage rides - perhaps a better picture, but Peppa's special so she gets the top slot. The J&O driver gave me a leaflet which I've just found sitting next to Hazel on my bed.  In minute and very soggy shreds.  Thank you Hazel!

Enjoy the rest of your Sunday  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.