Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Oak origins

Yes, I have blipped an acorn before this year - on 1st Sept to be precise.  And yes, this is the same one.  It's been sitting on my bedroom windowsill gently drying out and turning brown.  If you shake it now it rattles  ;))

To me at least, the beginning of an oak tree is the moment the acorn separates from its cup and becomes independent from the parent tree..  You can see here how wonderfully the two parts are designed to fit together (if you're as blind as I am, try 'large').  And from now on all the new oak needs to begin its life is some water and the roots will shoot out of that disc.  I thought I'd pot up this one and watch it grow.

So many thanks to Apollofly for today's TinyTuesday theme of 'something beginning with O' and for hosting the challenge this month.

Have a good Tuesday evening/Wednesday morning, all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.