Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Challenge 2

It was a beautiful blue-sky morning and I did go round the reserve, but only on my way up to the Vet to collect Hazel's flea and worm tablets.  Then it was - you guessed it - back into town to buy more gin.  We picked far too many sloes so I guess some of this will be presents. 

For those of you who expressed an interest in making it, this recipe for sloe gin is almost identical to the old one I got from my mum.  The only slight difference is that I bruise 5 or 6 almonds and put in each litre bottle, which gives it a lovely very subtly different flavour - but you don't need to.  And I leave it a good 3 months plus, just ready for Christmas.  Have fun if you do make it.

So that was my busy morning and this shot was taken inside from an acorn I picked up on my way home, under the oak tree in the Close.  I can never quite get over that something so small can pack in all the info for a full size 800 year old oak tree, but what I really loved here was the reddish-brown tinge just signifying autumn and the truly wonderful design of that little cup!

So that's my second challenge of the week completed.  Very many thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting this week's TT

Hope life is good for you all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.