Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The Diary of a Bookseller

Today's WidWed is on the subject of 'Book Titles', so being a bear of some brain but little imagination I have simply made an image that fits the book I'm currently reading, The Diary of a Bookseller.  It's written by Shaun Bythell, who owns an independent secondhand bookshop in Wigtown.  It's wonderfully funny and full of descriptions of the various types of eccentrics for whom such shops are a magnet.  I thought the guy in the shot looked serious enough about his books to fit in!

There are at least 4 secondhand bookshops in Winchester, of which this is the smallest.  It's tucked under the Kingsgate Arch, which has been blocked to traffic for many years now.  Above the arch, ie above these beams, is the lovely little chuch of St Swithun-upon-Kingsgate.

Many thanks to Freyjad for hosting MM this month.

The reason I was in town - yet again - is that I was meeting little sis for coffee and a catch-up.  Very nice and very long and when I got home I walked into a crisis and had to turn straight back out because Hazel had got her snout into a bowl of raisens which, as you no doubt know, are poisonous for dogs.  That meant a hike up to the vet for K and me to take little Hazel for a £120 injection to make her sick and then a walk back home in the rain with no umbrella!  Who knew it was going to rain?  Not me, it was brilliant sunshine when I set out this morning.

So this is my third challenge of the week.  Have a good evening, blipmates  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.