It’s All Over, bar the Knitting

I am home now to admire my Shetland wool and wonder what to knit with it. Seeing all the amazing knitwear at the Wool Week has inspired me to break from knitting beanies for charity and do something bigger for myself.

The journey home started with a rough ferry crossing. It felt like being put into an erratic tumbler dryer. The boat pitched and rolled, fell into the trough of a wave and hit others head on with a force and jolt that felt like a car crash. The only way I could cope was to lie on my bunk for 7 hours and not even try to move about the cabin. Fortunately I didn’t feel too seasick, but only because I was lying flat.
I never saw anyone today to compare notes with as I left the boat early to get my Gold Bus, but I imagine there were a few wasted meals of fish and chips.

The rain on the way south was biblical, falling out of leaden skies, meaning that it never got properly light. There was a lot of water on the roads and many flooded fields. I blipped the Discovery in Dundee through rain streaked bus windows.

It’s still raining now, making it hard to feel ecstatic at being home again. I do miss the clicking needles and camaraderie of all the Knitty Nellie ladies, the Dower house seems very quiet in contrast.
Please admire my wool in the extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.