"C'mere, there's more".

© Jimmy Cricket.

St. Kentigern's - R.I.P.
At the bottom of the T-shirts, long forgotten, was a collection of Scout's "Neckers".
This one, or its likeness, I grew up wearing in "the 1st Aspatria St. Kentigern's" Scouts. I am informed that these are/were St.Kentigern's colours. I can not, currently, find any proof to that effect. Most references seem to be to "R.C" schools, churches, etc.; there's no reference I can, currently, find to the saint which attributes any colours to him.
Our St. Kentigern's was "C of E".
Near the end of my involvement a pair of BERKS (Barry & Betty) decided to change the colours - to - would you believe WHITE with a lighter green trim. WHITE for BOYS. Come ON!!!

Some time after Alice died I returned to Aspatria for a "Blip around" I was certain I'd taken a shot of the church door.

After very extensive renovation work Rehallowing & Dedication was deemed necessary, I was then a Server and watched the Bishop pounding on the door with his Crosier. Somewhere I have (apparently unblipped) a shot of the 3 dents he left.


Whilst wandering the inside I noticed ONLY the guides' flags in the customary position. Enquiry revealed that the 1st Aspatria St. Kentigern's is dead; so after MANY decades, some of which Mam took while all the fighting aged men were fighting, and I was growing up on the "Club-room floor. So any resurrection will be the 2nd Aspatria & I GUESS they can choose the colour of their neckers.



Comical (though relevant) aside:-
Mam survived "Miss Berwick's cubs/scouts" Even suffered "Miss Berwick's little boys" for a while then decided it was time they forgot she was Alice Berwick and had married Cecil Kane a year before 1st "little boy " was born. I think they actually got as far as "Miss Berwick's husband" but not sure.

I can't remember, maybe he can?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.