Mono Monday: Week 298 .....

..... Shadows. 

We had a full, full day .... with a lot of driving!  But the drive was well worth it!

I usually order my squirrel peanuts from a peanut company in Virginia and then pay the ridiculous shipping fee!  When we decided on a vacation in Virginia I looked up where the company was in relation to where we are staying.  Wakefield Peanut Company is about 2 hours from our vacation resort so we planned on a day trip down there.  We also wanted to tie something else in to the trip to make it more worthwhile. 

Richard found a very nice state park in the area so we drove there first before heading over to Wakefield.  The state park is Chippokes Plantation SP and was a great place to spend the afternoon.  I have included a collage as an extra that features some of the pictures from the park .... including the "pumpkin" hay bales and the butterfly, which is a long-tailed skipper. 

After leaving Chippokes State Park we drove to Bacon's Castle (also in my collage) because I had read that this is the oldest documented brick dwelling in the United States.  Built in 1665 (yes 1665!), it is noted as an extremely rare example of Jacobean Architecture in the US.  They were closed today but we were still able to drive on to the property to get a few pictures. 

We then went to Wakefield so that I could buy some peanuts for my wildlife ... three 50 pound bags!  The squirrels are going to love me when I get home!

We stopped at the Virginia Diner for supper before heading back to our cabin. 

About my main blip:  As we were driving to Chippokes Plantation State Park we passed this old house sitting in the middle of a cotton field.  It is a shadow of it's former self. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.