Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

The (almost) Final Goodbye

My mother’s childhood friend, Cuci, provided a gorgeous spray of flowers in autumn colors.  We brought it home (I don’t know how Andy got it into my trunk) and Tammy very creatively took it apart and was able to make four lovely arrangements for my living area.

The Mass of Resurrection was beautiful. I thought I held it together pretty well. Just an occasional tear. Father Maldonado’s sermon was special and something I will remember forever. I’m not sure he originally intended to share a personal story about his mother’s death because he kind of looked at us while he was speaking and seemed to pause ever so slightly before he did. The mass program cover is the extra.

I’d guess there were about 100 people at the reception and likely many who left immediately after the service. I welcomed people for a while as they arrived at church, then welcomed them to the reception, introducing my family and telling a short story about how mom came to live in Green Valley.

As folks ate I went from table to table thanking them for coming and answering questions about my brothers (which one is who kind of things). I thought that I would finally be able to have a bite to eat but people kept approaching me to talk. Then it seemed like almost everyone felt the need to stop by to express their condolences (and maybe share a story about mom) once again and say goodbye as they left. I knew I should have eaten breakfast!

Before my car was even loaded the Buffalo clan left for San Diego and John left to join his girlfriend who had stayed at the hotel. They were driving back to Albuquerque very early this morning. Andy and Tammy decided to stay an extra day based on the weather report between here and Vegas. I think the plan for the morning is to drive up to Madera Canyon to spend some wind down time. That will be great because I am thoroughly exhausted.

In the title I wrote “almost.”  That’s because I will spread mom’s ashes near “my” casita when I go up for a week in November. It will be just the two of us...and that feels  perfect.

Thanks for everything, my dear blip buddies. You will never know how every word impacted me and kept me going from one day to the next.

Last thing, happy birthday, Mom. I love you.

~Laurie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.