Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Cool Graffiti

I did something different today and worked from Costa whilst G was in school. It was noisier and very cold! I must remember to take a fleece if I do that again.

Once again, we were waiting for the call from the garage to say the car is fixed. Yet again, we're disappointed. The part doesn't fit and it is because the supplier wasn't given the correct part number. Argh.

I could have got quite depressed but that's not going to help anything, so we decided to walk down to the shoe repair shop to get G's Fitflops sorted. We were told to come back in an hour, so we had a stroll down Karama's shopping centre. It was once a hive of commerce but now it lies empty. Paid parking, high rents and a recession have taken their toll. In the meantime, the Municipality, in an attempt to brighten things up, renovated these buildings and painted graffiti on them. It's great. It really brightens up the place. Thankfully, the mannequin in the window had a pink dress on, so blip sorted!

We stopped at a cafeteria that we haven't been to for AGES. It's not far at all from where we live. What's amazing is that their prices haven't gone up over all these years. They still do freshly squeezed juices for £1! And because I got a whiff of shawarmas cooking, we ended up eating there!

G's shoes were ready an hour later; they've done a good job on the repair. I got my head buried in some work for Awana when we got back, so am blipping this a day later. I heard on the radio that due to cloud seeding, we had some very heavy rain in certain parts on Monday, particularly on one major road. A twenty-minute school run took over three hours. I am so glad I didn't drive to Sharjah to get the part for the car!

I hope you have a few seconds to click here to help towards free mammograms. Thank you!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.