Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Kite

Ticked off another of my 'been wanting to do for a while' items when I made a visit to the Red Kite Centre near Doune this afternoon. Another day when the diary was empty (apart from food shopping) and, although the weather forecast was for showers, I decided to go along anyway.

Although the bird hide is open all day (8am - 5pm usually) there is bird-feeding at 2.30pm (changing to 1.30pm in the winter months) when some morsels are scattered near the hide and the ranger gives an informal talk. The number of kites visiting varies each day, and today I reckon there must have been about 20  - 30 flying around at the peak.

They are magnificent birds with wonderful colouring - my photos of the day don't do them justice - and I really enjoyed seeing them (relatively) close at hand. Maybe next time I'll take my DSLR camera with telephoto lens, or maybe just enjoy the experience and take it all in.

But I certainly intend to have a next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.