Change?

I've lost track of how many incarnations this building has had since we moved here. Looks like another change is afoot. The centre of Oxford is rapidly becoming a place of restaurants, fast food places and bars so I guess that's what's coming next.

This was a foray into the sun between coats of varnish on the kitchen floor and a clear-out of another bit of the shed. I went to take some of the best bits to a charity shop. When I go to the British Heart Foundation shop I always check their cards and the last few times the card I complained about 2½ years ago (see the following day for the BHF response) and again 1½ years ago (response here) has not been there. But today there were four copies of it, marked down to 49p each. I told the volunteer behind the desk that I found the card offensive and had complained about it. I said that I would hand over the goods I had if those four cards were destroyed. She said, unsurprisingly, that she couldn't do that. I asked what she thought of it and she looked uncomfortable. I told her that my donations were worth more than £1.96 and that I was taking them elsewhere.

As ever, I feel sorry for the ordinary people who have to do the inappropriate bidding of those who earn more than they do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.