MY LOVELY FRIEND, LINDA - PINKTOBER 21

Several years ago Linda and I became friends when I was helping in a local school and her daughter was a pupil there and have remained firm friends ever since.

She is a lovely lady - always has encouraging and positive things to say - and has helped me a lot in the past.  She is Bulgarian and her parents still live there, so I guess I became something of a surrogate Mother to Linda and a surrogate Grandma to her daughter, Vyara.  She even gave me permission to correct her English if she said the wrong word - the sign of a good friendship because I never put her down, but gently told her what the correct word was, and she was a quick learner.  Mind you, even after all these years, I still can't speak any Bulgarian!

About five years ago Linda and Vyara moved to Cheltenham, then Linda started working, which meant that we didn’t see each other as much as we would like to and our meetings became rather spasmodic, so it was lovely to meet up with her today at our favourite restaurant in Cirencester, “Made By Bob”.  We chatted for two hours and were still chatting when we left to walk back to our cars.  

Although Linda is a lot younger than me, we have the same standards and values and always enjoy our chats.  We were laughing today because we said we both have “memory loss” sometimes - in fact, we were laughing most of the time we were together as well as sharing recipes - her Bulgarian Bean Soup sounds delicious - and looking at photographs. 

I had asked Linda to wear pink and said I hoped she wouldn’t mind being my “Blip” for today, then decided that I would wear the beautiful pink cashmere scarf that my friend, Marylou, sent me from Pakistan, and decided that I would be in the photograph too.  I even remembered to take the ear buds for my iPhone, so that I could take a decent "selfie"!   

Linda was amazed that I had lost so much weight, and kept saying “You look lovely” in her beautiful accent - so I felt really encouraged by her.  I do wish we lived nearer, so I could see them more often, but am grateful for the friendship of Linda and Vyara and hope it continues for many years to come. 

Please join me during 
Breast Cancer Awareness Month
By clicking HERE
So that those who are not able to pay
Can have a free mammogram. 

Thank you to all those who are clicking daily.

“The only thing we have to fear
     is fear itself.
So the only thing to really be afraid of
     is if you don’t go and get 
          your mammogram.”
Cynthia Nixon : Breast Cancer Survivor

P.S.  Thank you for all your kind comments, stars and a heart for NgozI yesterday, all of which were much appreciated.  M xx  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.