Struggling

I'd gathered from meles that one or other of the groups that she is involved with that clean up and freshen up areas of Leith/Water of Leith was going to be busy near us today. We were on our way back up the Water from the first of several trips out - this time the second trip to see the nurse about my clips. Progress, but still not quite there. These four were struggling "Last-of-the-summer-wine-like" (albeit with an extra) with a recalcitrant bicycle and limited equipment. Shortly afterwards, one of them hopped over the fence and they did manage to free the bike from the tree roots and get it out of the water. Well done! Meles was indeed just around the corner from the flat, helping prepare a new bed for wild flowers. That will be nice. I admire these people who give their time freely to improve the environment in which we live.

My second trip of the day was to a chair yoga class at Projekt 42, which was very busy and entirely worthwhile. And the final trip was to meet with, chat with and then have dinner with IS, with whom I had been collaborating actively over a potential project in the last few weeks. Mr A joined us and we tried out La Casa on Leith Walk. It was fun and it is an improvement on Serrano Manchego. Oh, and of course we followed the latest shennanigans in Parliament. Anyone who thinks that's a "robust majority" for the Deal Bill in Parliament is spinning.

By the time I got home, I was too bushed to blip. I can also record that before the day was out the building fire alarm went off, waking me from deep sleep. That was no fun. But at least it only went off once after the fire brigade came and switched it off. Sometimes, if it is triggered by a fault, it keeps going off, for hours. We must pay a fortune in call out charges. As usual, we didn't go downstairs, but I went out on the balcony to check that there was no sense of panic, before returning to bed to await the eventual silence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.