Made it!

To Bruges by train and yes I know it's a wee bit crazy 3 weeks minus a day post op but I did run it by the consultant and when I told the nurse on Tuesday she seemed unperturbed. My hosts made it possible to come comfortably by train, supported Mr A as my carer and have given us an accessible hotel room which is good as I had some concerns in that department. As it happens I'm walking better than I could ever have imagined, so after we'd had a bit of a rest we walked over to a "ribs restaurant" just outside the tourist area which was excellent.

Long day, of course, but I'm more relaxed than exhausted tonight, and the only bit of the journey which caused me discomfort was the last bit in crappy Belgian railways rolling stock from Brussels Midi to Bruges. It was the shortest railway leg but it seemed to last for hours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.